Hard starting PA-28 140

Hard starting PA-28 140

I am having trouble getting my PA-28 140 started.  Just completed an annual and had ignition wires changed, also discovered some water in one of the tanks.  The aircraft had set for 8 months prior to the annual.  My A&P is stumped.

Anyone have a recommendation?

useravatar
Only registered users or members can reply or post

Re: Hard starting PA-28 140

Mike,

I'm not a mechanic, but there could be many causes here.  First, check the ignition system:  Are the spark plugs okay?  Are the spark plug wires and connections okay?  Are the mags timed and operating correctly?  Does the airplane have aluminum cables instead of copper?  (the original aluminum ones don't conduct as well and the starter might not rotate very fast - they can be replaced with copper).  Are the battery connections corroded?  What condition is the battery?  What condition is the ignition switch and connections and is it working properly?

Then, is the carburetor functioning correctly?  Is it gummed up (could happen if car gas has been used)? Have you gotten all of the water out of the system?  Are the primer tubes clear and working and does the primer work correctly?  Are you using it? I've got a very well cared for 140 and have never had a problem starting it. It would seem to me that a qualified mechanic should be able to troubleshoot the problem(s).  Good luck!

Gary

useravatar

Mike,

Probably the most often overlooked of the Items Gary listed is the primer system, more specifically the nozzles themselves. sometimes the orifice tube will be missing and all the shot goes to that single cylinder but most of the time the tubes will be plugged. If You have a set of small numbered drill bits and an ultrasonic cleaner they can be cleaned relatively easily but they aren't extremely expensive to replace either. Like Gary, I also wonder why Your mechanic can't diagnose the problem.

useravatar