Lean of Peak or Rich of Peak

I've been flying my 1977 Piper turbo Arrow for a few months. The discussion of LOP or ROP came up and I thought of posting it to get some opinions from the experts. I'm not sure if it makes a difference on the make and model of the engine or the aircraft itself. I'm flying a 1977 Turbo Arrow III with an TSIO-360-FB.

Thanks,

Todd

Comments

• For some, this is an emotional question.

From a data perspective, it depends.

With a turbo, am seeing where pilots are more likely to go with ROP mostly due to cruising at 75% power, or higher.

But with the correct equipment (key two words) and pulling back on the throttle, LOP is a good option. Will admit that my perspective is biased from the naturally aspirated world.

If seriously considering LOP, my personal minimum equpment list is a set of balanced injectors and multiprobe engine analyzer.

• Thanks Jacobsja,

I don't have the Gami injectors yet but hopefully will soon.

• Will argue that GAMI injectors are a worthwhile investment. Got lucky as a previous owner installed them and the broker did not mention the injectors, so was surprised to see them in the POH during pre-settlement inspection.

Toward the math of balanced injectors, if willing to trade off some speed and fly in power settings which allow LOP, the potential reduction in fuel consumption is significant. Am deliberately not calling-out actual fuel flows as I do not want anybody frying their engine based on my observations. While running the numbers, do some napkin math for time differences from shaving off 10 - 20 kts to cruise at 65% power (or less) and most will agree that increase in flight time is nominal compared to speeds at 75% power, even for long cross country. And, all of this is per POH (caveat: as ammended per the GAMI injectors).