Flying near the Rockies

Good afternoon all!

I am relatively new to flying Pipers (J3 experience for SES rating and 1 or 2 hours in an Arrow), but I just wanted to share my recent exposure and joy I have found in flying the Cherokee 180.

For the moment my family and I live in Colorado Springs. I learned to fly here, but that was mostly in Cessnas. In the last year I joined a small flying club at KCOS called Arapaho’s Flight Club. They have a Warrior, two Cherokee 180s, a Barron, and a DA40. It’s a great little flying club with great people.

Anyhow, back to the Cherokee 180. About two weeks ago I got checked out in the 180. I love how that ole girl flies! She’s got the power for the altitude and is nimble in the air. Last weekend I took it out for almost three hours into the mountains and flew to SilverWest Airport (C08) out near Westcliffe, Co. It was a really pleasant flight and the views of the Sangre de Cristo mountains are amazing! After a few touch and gos I flew over to Salida (KANK), another nice and fun airport. They have a courtesy car you can use to go grab food, etc. I stretched my legs here and then it was back to KCOS for a touch and go and full stop. The Cherokee handled everything like a champ! I remarked to my wife upon my return home that I don’t know that I have ever felt that relaxed while flying, and I LOVE to fly. I just wanted to share the great experience. It has spurred discussion that we might pursue the purchase of a Cherokee once we are more stable and not moving every couple of years.

That’s all!

Sean

Comments

• By the way, there are a few schools in the area that offer some good training for mountain flying; I highly recommend them and encourage folks to go through the training if you’re going to be flying in, near, or around mountains. :-)