Newbie here, bought a 1965 Piper 235, looking for advice

Hello everyone, as the title says I am the new owner of a 65 Piper PA 28 235. It has a factory remanufactured engine done in 2012 and has about 200 hours on it. It has been repainted about 18 years ago, and the total time on airframe is about 2800 hours.

My wife and I have jumped into this adventure and are working on our PPL together, risking of course putting the cart before the horse but we wanted to be trained in our own airplane and plan on using it to see the grandkids and kids who live 300-1100 miles away. We are getting older, late fifties so we had to dive into this thing and get going. It's been fun and our plans are to hopefully become IFR rated at some point, but that will be as far as we will go.

We will be flying together I think about 95 percent of the time especially at first. We will rarely carry passengers , except for the occasional airplane ride for fun.

I picked the Piper 235 because we are going to be going in and out of airports of 3200-6200 feet so I wanted the extra power and a little more speed. I think it will fit my primary mission nicely.

Now for the downside of the plane, It has all original avionics. The question in my mind about upgrading avionics in this plane vs a newer plane has been settled, I don't see the added value trading up for a more expensive plane when this one will fit our needs nicely except for avionics. Yes I understand that a good chunk of the money spent on avionics will not pay off at resale, I suppose I will fly for 10 years so if I enjoy the upgrades that is good enough for me.