Newbie with an Archer III. Need to nail down circuit/Pattern speeds...

Hello! So, I'm still a student and have acquired an Archer III...it's so close to the warrior I was training on, but I'd appreciate some input from experienced owners on the exact speeds to be following for this plane in the pattern. Ie...downwind, base, final....I've read 75 on final, and others say 66 on final...others say 75 on final, and 66 on short final...what is "short final",can't find an exact definition of that. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

Comments

• Now that's what I'm talkin' about, Greg! Nice bird you picked up! Short final, by the way, is the last 1/2 mile or so to touchdown on final approach. :)

Scott Sherer
    Wright Brothers Master Pilot, FAA Commercial Pilot
    Aviation Director, Piper Owner Society Forum Moderator and Pipers Author.

Need help? Let me know!

• A good rule of thumb is to take your final speed (75) and add 10 knots for the base and 10 more for the downwind. So 95/85/75 and then 66 over the numbers.

Jim M.
    PA-28R-200
    Based at BUU
    ATC Chicago TRACON

• And don't pull power completely until the main wheel are on the ground.

I love to defy gravity!
    1979 Arrow IV

• Thanks guys.
  • I always touch down with the throttle at full idle. Generally, it's a smooth landing. So you need power to arrest the descent a little? Hmmm. I have a turbo arrow 3 and maybe that's a little different than your arrow 2. Interesting.

Scott Sherer
    Wright Brothers Master Pilot, FAA Commercial Pilot
    Aviation Director, Piper Owner Society Forum Moderator and Pipers Author.

Need help? Let me know!