New to me 1983 Dakota

Long story but having it delivered hopefully this weekend

Comments

• Ok, now I want to hear the story ;) Where are you relocating it from and to?

Eric Panning
    1981 Seneca III
    Hillsboro, OR (KHIO)

• I’m still a student pilot. My instructor and I were going to go to Ft. Lauderdale and fly it home to South Dakota. The timing didn’t work out and for multiple reasons outside my control I’m hiring a pilot to bring it to me. Aircraft spent its life in Illinois, Colorado and California but was taken to Florida to be sold.

• I have been there trying to juggle instructors, maint shops, dealers, weather and my schedule. Sometimes you can push and pull to make it work and other times it all falls apart.

As you build hours for your license and enter the cross country phase of learning I would highly recommend taking an extended cross country with your instructor - maybe even as far as Florida or perhaps the gulf coast.

You will have the ground speed so that this is not unreasonable and plenty of storage space for gear. It is a great introduction to the business of flying too. You will experience different airports and build confidence in using your skills to land at new places. Fantastic for learning how to assess weather and making calls on diverting or continuing.

So many pilots learn in small trainers and have scant cross country experience when they get their license. Often they have the capability but lack the confidence or experience to be comfortable. You can also have pilots who are over confident based on 1000 landings at their home field and can get in to trouble when away.