Fly More Save More by Scott Smith

He is obviously one of the subscribers to the business theory: "You may be losing money on every widget, but you can make up for it in volume." I have been a pilot (and aircraft owner) for over 42 years, and retired CPA; taught Accounting and Finance in addition; his logic is that which would be perfect for the inside of a bubble gum wrapper,

Comments

• Hi,

Are you referring to this?

I did not read the whole article yet but I would say most owners pay more per hr vs renting but this comes with the flexibility of owning vs renting too. You can still find a 172 renting for < $100 wet (Although more likely $120+) from the graph above the break even point is ~ 350 hrs or $35,000.

Eric Panning
    1981 Seneca III
    Hillsboro, OR (KHIO)

• I know my plane is a money pit but the flexibility it affords us is meaningful. We have been able to do a few out of town horse shows with my daughter and have her home for school on Monday when her horse did not get home till about the time she got up for school. Her coach does not feel pressure to get her home and can drive during non-rush hour traffic.

The greatest thing owning vs renting has given me is time. Not more productive time but time to set up the cockpit, warm the engine, preset frequencies, I don’t care that the tach is counting up. I am not rushed to takeoff and get on with the flight. I fly at my speed not “I gotta get this thing parked, it is costing me too much money.” I don’t care if I do a 360 for spacing, I offer to let others go in front of me when I feel the least bit of pressure from someone. I think I am flying safer.

I also know every MEL/CDL the plane has. I also know every quark and know real fast when something is off just a little.

My CFI friend is teaching his wife and my SIL to fly. Not being stuck to 1 hour blocks he can teach till their brains are full. He says lessons are easier. They can stop mid way and do a debrief, go back out and fly some more.