1967 Piper Cherokee Arrow 180 Questions

Ok, I am about to become the owner of a 1967 Piper Cherokee Arrow 180 !!! I always liked the Arrows and the Cherokee family of airplanes are great flyers. This particular airplane is sitting in Billings, Montana and we are going to take delivery of the aircraft somewhere in between West Tennessee and Montana, if plans work out. I have several questions. Any CPA owners out there ?
1. For TAX purposes , between Montana and Tennessee, what State is best to make an airplane transaction ?
2. What is the benefit of keeping the aircraft registered in my LLC ?
3. Is there any particular issue that I should be careful of with this year Piper Arrow ? High time engine and prop, both original.
4. Wing spar inspections not done
5. Best operating altitudes and power settings for endurance ? Best climb speed ?

Comments

• I can help with Q’s 1 and 2. Disclaimer: I’m not a lawyer or CPA.

1) Where is the airplane going to be based? You’re going to pay state sales tax one way or the other where you keep the plane...even if you do the transaction in a cheaper place tax-wise, your home state is going to want their cut and will give you a credit only for what you paid somewhere else, and charge you the difference.

2) Liability-wise, if you own the airplane by yourself, the LLC doesn’t really do anything extra to protect you as an LLC will only make you liable for your share of the LLC. If you are the only member of the LLC, you will have all of the liability,

Jim M.
    PA-28R-200
    Based at BUU
    ATC Chicago TRACON